Canadian teams fall at Rugby World Cup Sevens

SAN FRANCISCO — Canada's women's and men's rugby sevens team were both knocked out of title contention on Friday night at the Rugby World Cup Sevens.

The women's team lost 24-19 to France on a last-second try that capped off a back-and-forth quarter-final match. The Canadians were 3-0 against the French this year, but it was France that kept Canada off the overall World Series podium for the first time ever and got the upper hand at AT&T Park in San Francisco.


Canada's women's team will play Spain in a placement game to set up the fifth-through-eighth seeding on Saturday at 2:20 p.m. ET/11:20 a.m. PT.

On the men's side, Argentina showed their mettle in a 28-0 victory over the Canadian men, who will play the loser of Friday's Fiji-Japan match in the consolation Challenge Trophy quarter-finals Saturday at 5:26 p.m. ET/2:26 p.m. PT.


CBC Sports will have complete coverage of the Rugby World Cup Sevens, which run from July 20-22.

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

CBC | Sports News