Canadian women's struggles continue at Rugby World Cup Sevens

SAN FRANCISCO — Canada's women's rugby sevens team's struggles continued on Saturday at the Rugby World Cup Sevens with a 26-14 loss to Spain.

The Spanish squad's possession-oriented reputation was evident throughout the match, keeping the ball out of Canadian hands for long stretches. Bianca Farella and Ghislaine Landry scored Canada's two tries in the second half.

Canada could not solve the Spain defence, having trouble all game en route to a 26-14 loss in the championship 5th-place semifinal at the Rugby World Cup sevens on Saturday in San Francisco. 2:52

"If you come out flat-footed, other teams will make you pay for your mistakes and I think we just let off a gas a little and Spain did a good job of executing on our errors," said Canadian veteran Britt Benn, whose back-and-forth passing with Farella led to a try.

Canada will face a physical Russian side to determine seventh and eighth place at 9:38 p.m. ET/6:38 p.m. PT. Head coach John Tait said his team will need to be more aggressive in its final match of the tournament.

"I felt like we put yesterday behind us. I'm a bit shocked by the outcome of that match," Tait said. "We need some energy, it's got to come from somewhere."

"There's a lot of character in our team."

The Canadian men's team is also in action on Saturday in the Challenge Trophy consolation quarter-finals against Japan at 5:26 p.m. ET/2:26 p.m. PT. The Canadian men can only finish as high as ninth place following a resounding 28-0 loss to Argentina on Friday in the round of 16.

Can New Zealand go back-to-back?

New Zealand's vaunted women's squad will have a chance to win consecutive World Cup titles after dispatching host United States 26-21 in the semifinals.

The Black Ferns will face France in the final at 10:44 p.m. ET/7:44 p.m. PT. The French eliminated reigning HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series champs Australia 19-12  on a last-second try.

On the men's side, the quarter-finals will feature the following matchups:

  • Scotland vs. South Africa — 6:32 p.m. ET/3:32 p.m. PT
  • Argentina vs. Fiji — 6:54 p.m. ET/3:54 p.m. PT
  • France vs. New Zealand — 7:16 p.m. ET/4:16 p.m. PT
  • United States vs. England — 7:38 p.m. ET/4:38 p.m. PT

The men's semis and final will be contested on Sunday.

CBC Sports will have complete coverage of the Rugby World Cup Sevens, which run from July 20-22.

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

CBC | Sports News